WhatsApp Most Awaited Feature To ‘Delete’ Messages Sent By ‘Mistake’ Is Rolling Out
Whatsapp is rolling out a brand new feature that lets users delete messages which are already sent and this feature will help a person in deleting messages that they’ve either sent to a group or an individual chat. More than one billion users ought to use this feature after it is rolled out. Messages which are been deleted will be replaced by “this message was deleted” term.
But the main catch here is, you can only delete the messages within 7 minutes of sending it and this new roll would be a helpful go for anyone who mistakenly sends a message to a wrong group or to an individual. If you see a message as “this message was deleted” it clearly means that the sender has deleted their message for everyone. Whatsapp also did an FAQ post for the ioS and Android users for how to delete the messages.
Here’s a guide of how to delete messages sent to everyone on WhatsApp.
- Firstly, open WhatsApp and go to the chat window where you wish to delete a message.
- Tap and hold the messages you want to delete, you can select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
- Now tap delete
If you want access of the new delete sent messages feature then you and the recipient has to have the new version of WhatsApp. If you or the recipient doesn’t have the new version then the feature will apparently not work.
There’s this one thing which WhatsApp has clearly mentioned and warned about to people that they do not guarantee whether or not your recipient will see the offending message. They say that recipients could see your messages before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful. Also, if your attempt to delete a message to everyone isn’t a successful one, you will perhaps not get a notification in that case. The feature is also referred to as ‘recall’ and ‘revoke’.
Whatsapp has finally got your back when you send a wrong message to a group or to a person but will it be successful?
Right now the delete feature is merely helpful as it only removes the message for the person who has sent it. This feature is still rolling out so not everyone has it yet. This new feature could be a major deal breaker but as time goes by and more people update their app, the option to undo those messages will apply to more and more conversation. Also, there would be users who will agree that this update has been a long overdue. This feature “delete for everyone” works on all types of messages including text, images, videos, GIF’s and documents, according to sources the rollout of delete for everyone is proving very slow, so you don’t have to worry if you can’t make use of it quite yet.
Although this game-changing feature will be rolled out to all the users considering that there are billions of users and this will take some time to get updated on everyone’s phone.